

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

March 8, 2017, 1:30 P.M. Room 535, State Capitol Building Oklahoma City, OK 73105

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	Amy Bixler, Doug Brown, Bruce Day, Dr. Bo Hannaford, Johnnie Parks, Dr. Kent Shellenberger and Secretary of Education Natalie Shirley
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	None
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Robert Buswell, Jennifer Gambrell, Renee Launey-Rodolf, Abby Murphey, Lecrecia Schmidt and Jeff Wallace.
VISITORS:	Dr. Goldie Thompson, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education; Craig Walker, Executive Director of State Assessments

Call to Order: Secretary Shirley called the meeting to order at 1:37 P.M.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Secretary Shirley asked for the roll call to be taken. Seven Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Page 1 of 3

Approval of Minutes from the January 18, 2017 Commission Meeting: Mr. Day made a motion to approve the minutes of the January 18, 2017 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	approve
Mr. Parks:	approve	Secretary Shirley:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve		

Discussion and action on the reappointment of Dr. Ronna Vanderslice, Dr. Evie Davis, Dr. Gordon Eggleton, Dr. Tracy Fredman, Dr. Deborah Landry, Dr. Stacy Reeder, and Dr. Pam Robinson to the Program Review Advisory Board. Dr. Hannaford made a motion to approve the above requested reappointments to the Program Review Advisory Board. Mr. Parks seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	approve
Mr. Parks:	approve	Secretary Shirley:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve		

Discussion and action on the appointment of Dr. Lois Brown to the Program Review Advisory Board: Mr. Day made a motion to approve the appointment of Dr. Lois Brown to the Program Review Advisory Board. Dr. Shellenberger seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	approve
Mr. Parks:	approve	Secretary Shirley:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve		

Quality and Accountability program updates: School Performance Reviews, Educational Indicators, and National Board video.

New Business: Commission discussed moving the June CEQA meeting to alternate date.

Announcements and Informational Items: None

The meeting adjourned at 3:12 P.M.

The minutes of the March 8, 2017 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted

with corrections

Page 2 of 3

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability 840 Research Parkway, Suite. 455 Oklahoma City, OK 73104 • (405) 522-5399 on May 17, 2017.

Signed:

Natalie Shirley, Chairman

Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director

Page 3 of 3